People should follow native customs and traditions when starting to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many a person holds the opinion that foreigners should not push against the prevailing manners and culture of local people if they immigrate to another country. Personally, I partially concur with this notion, and this essay is aimed at providing compelling justification for my position.

On the one hand, there are a number of different explanations to be taken into account as to why foreigners should learn how to comply with traditional and cultural manners/norms as a local resident in general. For one thing, this might result in immigrants easily living in harmony with local people. By and large, comprehending their culture enables them/newcomers/new arrivals to have polite and standard manners and attitudes in social communication and activities on the grounds that each country has its own culture which is worth being respected and followed by not only natives but also immigrants. For another, the fact that it will be an advantage in work and social relations if immigrants are able to go native deserves consideration. A lot of local corporations have preferential internal recruitment policies with foreign employees, with the result that foreigners may have a good condition along with their professional knowledge to take the opportunity to get promoted in work.

On the other hand, it is not compulsory for immigrants to change all their domestic motherland(‘s)/home country(‘s) culture when moving to another country for several reasons. To begin with, granted that all in all every culture is deserving of respect, and the motherland one is no exception, it is understandable and approving/acceptable for foreigners to maintain their cultural identity providing that it is appropriate for moral standards and does not infringe the social norms as well as the law of the local/host country. Another important factor for this is that maintaining their own culture is a requisite way for immigrants to pass down it to the next generations. Given the fact that they can sustain their customs and traditions after settling down in another nation, their children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren will not lose their culture.

In conclusion, I take the position that while to some extent immigrants should assimilate into the new culture when settling down in another nation, they should not be forced to abandon their own cultural origin for the reasons mentioned above.