Some people think the best way to solve traffic congestion in cities is to provide free public transport 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic congestion has become a common problem around the world, and the solutions to this trouble are various. Many people believe that increasing frequency of transport tool would be the best way, but I would argue that many other methods can be better choice.

If the transportation tools can be taken without time limits, the traffic congestion during the commuting time may be mitigated, because many working people can choose to go home or other destinations more flexibly. These public transports can enable them to take no matter what time it is. For example, managers are frequented to bus station when they need to get off work if they public transportation has limited shifts. As a result, it may cause super crowded road due to tons of cars and buses running at the same time. By contrast, when these workers can have more choices about time shift, they may delay their plan that can make a positive impact on the traffic congestion.

However, governments who can invest more capital on the subways will reduce the congested traffic greatly. On the road, there are always full of cars, buses, bikes and so on, those hold the key to the efficiency of traffic transportation. If there is something wrong with these tools, it is fair to say that the traffic will become congested. In contrast, the tube will not have this question, because there are just trains underground. As a consequence, it will help reduce the burden of road due to a wide range of transportation tools.

Another good way is that citizens driving private cars should pay more tax because they cause the emission of gas and traffic congestion. Many people should consider economic context when they want to drive their own cars. City traffic crowding are main cause of the number of private cars increasing. When private drivers are subject to high tax, they may choose public transport tools. Consequently, there will not be more personal cars on the road and this solution to the main reason of traffic congestion may be effective in terms of coping with the problem of traffic.

In conclusion, although the increase in frequency in public transports will be a good method to solve traffic congestion, I would reckon that building new subways or deterring people from driving private cars would be better.