Some people think that boys and girls should be educated in the same school Others however believe that girls achieve better results when educated in single sex schools Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Without a doubt, education plays a momentous role in one's life and parents have always pondered which school their children attend to develop their potential to the fullest. A heated controversy has been sparked which revolves around the issue of whether male and female students should be taught in the same environment or separately. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss the foundations of each point of view and state the reasons for my opinion in favor of the first.

On the one hand, advocates of coeducation argue that it can greatly assist students' social skills and encourage gender equality. Interacting regularly with peers of the opposite sex, they gradually familiarize themselves with their typical behavior, as well as how to treat them properly and cooperate with them. If they are not taught such social conduct in single-sex schools, they will unavoidably be disconcerted and encounter problems when having to communicate with the other gender. By the same token, they are also able to expand their social circles and improve their self-confidence, which is instrumental in their future life. Mixed-gender schools also allegedly remove gender discrimination, regarding the fact that their attendants participate in the same activities and work in groups.

On the other hand, it is believed that single-sex schools provide students with a more comfortable and less distracting learning environment. Without the presence of the opposite gender, they express themselves more freely and spontaneously as they are surrounded by those not so dissimilar to them. Conversely, in a classroom encompassing both boys and girls, they, more often than not, act in a forced way and are less active due to fear of embarrassment. Furthermore, adolescents have a tendency to get attracted to the opposite sex instinctively. It follows therefore that they seek gratuitous romantic relationships, which make them preoccupied and absent-minded in their studies. Single-sex education is believed to combat this inherent problem and, consequently, allow students to completely apply themselves to school work.

All in all, although either of these education systems has both benefits and drawbacks, I think the currently common practice of coeducation should still be maintained as it has notable positive impacts on a child's future, whilst his academic success at school will not receive much recognition when he is an adult.