Some people think that buildings such as flats and houses should be designed to last a long time. Others believe that it is more important to provide accommodation quickly and cheaply.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

There are many conflicting views on housing construction. Some people think that houses need to be well built to last for a long time. However, others argue that this should be done as fast and reasonably as possible. In my opinion, these two factors are of equal importance.

The fact that some people support the concept of building a well-structured house comes from a number of reasons, but the major one is safety and aesthetic value. A building being carefully constructed from the design to choice of materials means it has the ability to withstand natural disasters such as floods, hurricanes, and earthquakes. On the contrary, the sketchy construction will easily lead to the risk of collapse, meaning the possibility of a loss of people and things is very high. Vietnam is a prime example. During the historic flash flood a few years ago, most of the temporarily-built houses were swept away by the flood while the carefully built with high cost remained unaffected. Moreover, a house or a flat that takes time to be erected tends to have better architecture and hence looks more beautiful.

However, in some cases, affordable housing becomes an urgent and essential need. This stems from the benefits that low-cost housing projects bring to low-income people. In fact, workers and manual laborers who cannot afford comfortable and expensive houses only need a place to shelter. Therefore, a luxurious house with full amenities is considered a luxury for them. Another reason is that the rapid growth of the global population makes the demand for housing increase. The more slowly accommodation is provided to residents, the more people have to face homelessness or living in slums.

To conclude, both of the above criteria should be taken into account when building a house. While it should be well-built, it should also be at reasonable prices to meet the needs of those living in poverty and the growing population.