People nowadays spend their free time less actively than in the past. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief that people nowadays are more inactive than they used to be. In my opinion, I totally agree with this statement and the reasons will be presented below.

There are numerous explanations for this unhealthy lifestyle. The first one is the development of technology. Thanks to industrialization, more digital gadgets such as computers and smartphones become increasingly popular. The applications in these devices such as games, movies, and e-books are so interesting that users cannot prevent themselves from using them. As a consequence, the amount of time they used to spend doing sport decreases. Also, with the convenience of electronic devices, people now can communicate with each other via social networking sites more easily without having to commute from one place to another, which is sometimes very time-consuming and tiring. For instance, friends can interact with each other by making video calls or hold a conversation as long as their smartphones are equipped with Facebook or Zalo despite geographical distances.

The second factor contributing to this sedentary life is the hectic schedule that global citizens have. This means that they have to undertake a heavy workload or do overnight shifts in order to meet the deadlines. This leads to tiredness and stress. For this reason, the only thing officers and workers prefer doing as soon as they arrive home is relaxation. Instead of playing active sports namely football or volleyball which are very demanding, individuals would rather stay indoor to entertain themselves by reading books or watching their favorite movies. By doing this, they can gain more energy to get ready for the new day at work. If they do not refresh themselves, it is highly likely that their productivity at work will significantly be influenced.

To conclude, for the above reasons, I completely believe that people in the modern world are leading a less active life than in the past.