Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Few men and women deem that few law-breakers should be allowed by states to do free work for the society and all offenders should not be kept in jail. I completely agree with the statement because it will give them a second chance to become a member of society as well as community will also be benefited from unpaid work offered by criminals.

To commence with, when perpetrators are kept in incarcerate, they feel that they are isolated from the society. Therefore, if a chance will be given to offenders to perform several tasks for the community, then it will make them more responsible because they could feel that a noble cause has been done by them for the betterment of society. Consequently, they could become a part of community. For example, in India, criminals are often doing work related to society such as, making different items for deprived class people. In this way, after completing prison terms, they are more likely to become a responsible member of society.

Another reason why criminals should be given free tasks for the society is that few of them are well-educated in different fields. Instead of spending time ideally in the prisons, it would be a better option to allocate work for every individual as per their education or experience. As a result, it will not only advantageous for the community, but law-breakers could also gain some experience which could be useful for them in future to get a job or work. To exemplify, in Great Britain, several tasks are given by prison authorities to perpetrators as per their capability and because of this maneuver, most of the criminals were able to find a suitable job, after being released from jails.

In conclusion, to give a second chance to become a part of society, community can be benefited by getting work-done without paying anything and offenders could search a suitable job for themselves after being released from prison, are major reasons to bolster the notion of unpaid work done by criminals for the society.