Some people think that cultural traditions may be destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others, however, believe that it is the only way to save such traditions.

Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

It is commonly thought that cultural traditions are ruined when people use them to make money from tourists whereas others argue that using these traditions as money-making ventures is the only way to save them. I personally opine that both views are true to a certain extent.

On the one hand, conventional cultures could be wrecked for several reasons. To begin with, uncontrolled mass tourism may damage cultural heritage sites irreversibly, which could create challenges from wear. For example, the construction of large hotels near Angkor Wat, which is a world-famous Cambodian tourist attraction, could affect the water table beneath tempers. Moreover, Hoi An in Vietnam, attracts a massive influx of travelers on an anual basis. Thus, a great number of local people are forced to move from the town’s centre to live on the outskirts. Therefore, ancient monuments tend to be vandalized by degrees.

On the other hand, the opinion that monetizing from folk cultures is the only way to preserve them also shows some remarkable reasons. First of all, the increasing number of visitors could provide funds for the preservation of such traditions. To exemplify, numerous people in Bat Trang village in Vietnam make their living from selling traditional ceramic products, and thus are able to continue one of the most long-standing crafts in Vietnam. Second, by putting cultural traditions on public display, the government could heighten people’s awareness of restoring national folklore. To illustrate, the Vietnamese government has built several museums that solely exhibit examples of ethnic minority cultures in an attempt to protect cultural values without affecting the lives of these people, yet successfully gathering lots of public attention and support.

In a nutshell, using historic cultures as commercial attractions has both positive and negative impacts on the conservation of such traditions.