Some people think that dangerous sports should be banned, while others think people should be free to choose. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People across the world are inclined towards different types of sports activities. A segment of society believes that sports which are fatal should be prohibited whereas others reiterate that options should be given in choosing sports. This essay will cast light on both views before making a final note.

The prime factor behind forbidding perilous sports is that it can be detrimental to life. To elaborate more, sports require huge amount of skill along with patience and awareness to be great at the game. A small mistake can lead to physical injuries which can cause death or physical disabilities. According to one survey, the cause of deaths in Rishikesh, a small town in Northern India is due to river rafting. Travellers had tried this sport for recreational purpose and landed themselves into the clutches of fatality. Hence, it is advisable that such sports should be excluded to avoid casualties.

On the other hand, to put a bar on these hazardous sports is not a solution. People should be given a free choice to do any sports. To explain it further, there are people who are adventurous, passionate, and participating in such extreme sports can bring a sense of accomplishment. For instance, despite enormous risk in mountaineering, there are some mountaineers who climb the mountain to conquer their fear and to overcome their physical and mental challenges. They find this sport the most rewarding as they tackle the mountains not for glory or bragging rights but for personal development. Therefore, Individuals should be entitled to right and freedom to take part in any sports and activities they find enjoyable.

In conclusion, risky sports involve great chances of menace, however, in my opinion, freedom of preference should be given to those who aspire a sense of fulfilment by participating in these sports.