Some people think that employers should not care about the way their employees dress because what matters is the quality of their work To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many are of the belief that corporations should prioritize quality work over appropriate workplace attire. In my opinion, there are limits to this sentiment; however, it is largely justified as other areas are more crucial to success.

Those in favor of a strict dress code argue that it fosters professionalism. Appearance is important not only for clients and customers but also workers themselves. An employee who dresses well for work is similar to an actor preparing for a performance. The appearance of professionalism is likely engender the same level of diligence to their work. This becomes part of a cycle as customers notice the attention to detail and workers become aware they are essentially performing. The best illustration of this is professions that require uniforms, such as doctors and police officers, and thus fully embody their public role.

However, the quality of the work itself is paramount. In recent years, corporations have relaxed dress codes in recognition of this fact. For example, many technology companies in Silicon Valley including Facebook and Google are famous for a more casual approach to attire. This policy begins with the CEOs and executives who eschew traditional suits for jeans, normal shirts, and comfortable shoes. This signals that the success of a company depends more on the output of their work. An employee at such a company who dresses well but cannot code or contribute meaningfully to a high-achieving team is in fact a hindrance to success. The focus on inner qualities and capabilities is reflective of an broader social shift that places less value on factors extrinsic to true achievement.

In conclusion, the minor benefits of dress codes for professionalism are outweighed by the recognition of the importance of real work. Companies should therefore strive to uphold values with tangible impact.