Some people think environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Day by day deteriorating conditions of the environment is a matter of concern for one and all, not only for ruling bodies. It is unethical to say that it is more politicians’ responsibility to protect the environment. Therefore, I do not agree with the statement, I would rather say that politicians can do too little in protecting ‘Mother Nature’ however individuals are more accountable for the same.

I strongly believe that everybody needs to play his/her part in preserving this planet. There are many transformations that people need to adopt in their day-to-day life activities, which ruling bodies have nothing to do with. To quote an instance, they should switch to public transportation rather than using personal vehicles. This would not only decrease the carbon footprints but also conserves precious resources in the form of fuels. Moreover, it becomes a civic responsibility to follow the concept of reducing, reusing, and recycling which can make a tremendous impact in the steps towards environmental protection. However, folks turn deaf ears when it comes to obey rules and regulations linked to the preservation of the environment. For instance, commoners know their duty towards their car’s cleanliness; however, do not bother about the cleanliness of the roads, as a result, litter on the roads.

On the other hand, the government can only formulate laws and policies to protect the environment, but it is entirely upon individuals whether they follow those rules or not. Secondly, it is not uncommon to see that authorities conduct awareness programs or seminars on environmental issues on a regular basis. Moreover, everybody is given basic education in schools regarding pollution, global warming, and other environmental issues. Therefore, politicians are already doing what they ought to do.

In conclusion, it should be understood that we all are embracing the treasures of nature therefore it becomes the responsibility of one and all to protect the environment. It is unwise to rely on the government for everything.