Some people think that good health is a basic human need, so the medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do you think the disadvantages of private health care out weigh the advantages?

In this modern and age, privately-operated health institutions have been growing tremendously and acting as a substitute to public health care agencies. In my opinion, while there are a few downsides of it, I would argue that more private medical services should be offered on the count of their evident merits.

On the one hand, these private medical services still have some negative sides, and the most limited of which are high costs that patient have to pay. When the government have not yet imposed any regulates of fee, the private medical agencies would have to set out their own limit prices such as prescription charges, use of high-quality equipments. As a result, it would be inaccessible for those who have an average income. In addition to that, the primary purpose of the privately-run health care companies is revenue, therefore they might have to focus more on the large quantity rather than quality. And with those medical staffs who obtained less experiences and qualifications, it would also be hard for private medical companies to afford the need of customers.

On the other hand, there are logical reasons to make those private medical service agencies to become more practical. Firstly, in comparison with public health care ones whose services make patient waiting long line, the private ones always do better in such aspect. It is less time-consuming for either customers with life-threatening diseases or those coming for regular check-ups. Secondly, privately-run medical companies are essentially alternative to those people living in the remote places. If it were operated in those far-off areas, people would have the opportunity to enjoy the progress medical services, also enabling the minority of ethnic groups to have the access to the basic health care which had not been received before.

In conclusion, although there are some negative sides of private health care services mentioned above, I believe that the benefits overshadow the drawbacks.