Some people think that good health is very important to every person, so medical service
should not be run by profit-making companies.
These days many people feel that good health and well-being is essential to all people and therefore
healthcare services should not be run by privately owned companies, whose main objective is to make
profit. Personally, while I do agree with this statement, I also believe that private healthcare services do
have many advantages.
Firstly, public hospitals in most countries are usually overcrowded and underfunded which can put a lot
of pressure on doctors, nursing staff and patients to recover quickly so that more people can be treated.
When people choose private healthcare services it can help to reduce the burden on the public system,
and as a result can also help to reduce the amount of money required by the government for funding. In
addition to this, those who choose to pay for private healthcare services will experience many benefits,
such as the quality and speed of treatments, short waiting times for appointments and operations, and
more private and comfortable facilities.
However, while there are a number of benefits to private healthcare, there are also a number of
drawbacks. To begin with, private healthcare insurance is very costly and many people simply cannot
afford it. In addition, private healthcare insurance is usually paid on a monthly basis, whether you use
the system or not, and therefore many people pay thousands of dollars each year for private healthcare
but never need to use the facilities or services. Many people consider this to be a waste of money.
Furthermore, some people also argue that private healthcare services create inequality between citizens
of a nation as only the wealthy can afford the best and quickest treatment available.
In conclusion, I believe that as long as governments do their best to provide a good standard of
healthcare facilities and services for the general public, then private healthcare services can also exist
and provide many advantages that will outweigh the disadvantages.