Some people think that the government is responsible for looking after the elderly. Others believe that it is the role of individuals. Who do you think should take responsibility for?

On one hand, government should help the aged citizens because when they were young, they already had to pay for taxes, health care services and daily payments, and now as having grow old, they deserve special treatment. Salary for the retirered is very low which now not enough to pay for their own essential needs. Furthermore, there are (a few) people who decided to be single their whole life which means they have no (other) income when they are old and the government should support them.

On the other hand, those people (who) had spent many decades to save money for the future, can absolutely take care of themselves. To illustrate this point of view, there are many old millionares like Bill Gates or Steve Jobs who worked so hard and knew how to save use money reasonably so when they get older, they can still handle to pay things for themselves. What is more, instead of using money to help the elderly, the government can spend those money to develop other facilities like school or hospital which are useful to everyone, not only the elderly. Without the financial burden of the aged people, the government can also have more fund to solve other problems of the society.