Some people think that the government should provide free education at every level However some say individuals should pay for their university education Discuss both views and give your opinion

Education is more or less a necessity in this modern era, some are of the opinion that the entirety of an individuals education should be financially backed by the government, other believe that higher education shouldn't be funded by the government rather by the effort's of the students. The below essay will discuss both views and express my opinion.

To begin with, many developed countries have made primary and second education free for their country, furthermore, this has evidently shown a gradual increase of educated personal withing a society, For example, Canada and Germany have one of the highest literacy rate amongst other developed countries. This could be contributed to the comprehensive and free education provided by the government. The number of students who opt-in for university education have also seen a drastic increase, as they are more likely to perceive higher education. By performing better academically they could even grab a scholarship to their university education, thereby, the entirety of their student life could be funded by the government.

on the other hand, university education is said to be more difficult than your average high school diploma, hence, it should only be offered to the elite of the students, who can actually contribute to the society, therefore, by making university education expensive and by limiting the scholarship offered we can filter out the elite who are more likely to succeed. For instance, Harvard university have intentionally increased their fee structure. This would promote a hierarchy of students who would put in relatively more effort in their academics to obtain a scholarship to the university. Additionally, this has increased the number of graduates in the university who have an overall GPA of more than 75% in their university education.

To conclude, in my opinion university education should be granted to only those students who portray their efforts on their marks-sheet. Making it free for all would have no benefits in the long run, as this would abolish the competitive world of education.