Some people think that the government should spend more money on public services than public arts.

To what extent do you agree?

There are those who contend that more government budget should be poured into public service than public arts. In my opinion, while an on-going financial investment on public service should be consistent, public arts should receive attention accordingly as it can boost the quality of life as well as play an intrinsic role in building national identity.

Beginning with the view that the government's financial support should keep focusing on public service, it is definitely proved by the press with a myriad of news reported on social crisis resulted from low-standard public service such as education, security or social welfare. An illustrative example for this is criminality, which is prevailing intensively in inner-city area rife with poverty and a lack of schooling, especially in urban areas, where a combination of large population crammed together in a limited space with insufficient security. Aside from law-breakers arising from poor education and security, there is an inclination of slums due to little social welfare established to help the poor, ill or elderly people. Therefore, the government should Scrutinize an option of increasing more charitable organization to reach all areas suffering from aforementioned social issues!

Turning to an alternative viewpoint, public arts are deemed as a tremendous role in the national identity. In other words, it has profound impact on citizen's thoughts and customs, which lead to a vibrant society of a country. Taking the Chinese civilization as an example, all famous China dynasties are often viewed as the length of the Great Wall, and these periods were equivocally characterized by numerous historical sites. Besides, public arts can create a desirable and beautiful environment of residents' everyday life with objects around the home that have positive impact on their well-being, particularly psychological one. Many of great cities of the world that are famous for their signature public arts such as Eiffel tower, Statue of Liberty, which are enjoyed by both locals and tourists.

In conclusion, both pubic service and public arts should receive equal investment from the government budget in order to balance the quality as well as the beauty of a city or country.