Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams and skills such as arts should not be taught.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many are of the belief that schools should only focus on key subjects to help students pass academic tests rather than wasting time educating cooking, dressing and other life skills. In my opinion, though academic knowledge is important, other practical skills are essential and need to be educated.

To initiate, there are certain explanations to emphasize studying important subjects. One fundamental justification is that these subjects have an unparalleled necessity in passing academic examinations, thereby having a well-paid occupation in the future. It does not seem unreasonable to claim that the majority of tests for accessing higher education are designed to be focused on a limited range of subjects. By the way of exemplifying, the entry test to university in many Asian countries tend to focus on merely 9 academic subjects categorized into the Social Science and Natural Science. Therefore, spending school time on these subjects allegedly has more advantageous impacts on the future of students.

Nevertheless, from my perspective, the merits of learning about non-academic subjects, including arts, should not be underestimated. The main supporting point is that learning arts helps improve health and happiness. Many students find schools, in general, are so stressful and comment that arts lessons act as an outlet to release the pressures of studying and those of everyday life. In other words, students can avoid stress-related illnesses such as depression, memory impairment through studying arts. Furthermore, students who study arts have a greater appreciation for beauty. They feel a responsibility to help take care of it and feel gratitude for all the goodness that surrounds them.

To sum up, I believe that despite tremendous merits of academic subjects associated with job opportunities and school records, learners should study other skills to become more well-rounded and independent.