Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that spending money on the arts is pointless, and this money could be better spent elsewhere. Personally, I partly disagree with this statement because arts are an integral part of any culture.

On the one hand, the argument that investing money on art is reasonable to some extent. The first reason is that there are many artitic endeavours are costly and do not have any direct effect on country's income. For exampl, statue "Giant elephant" in Viet Nam, which costs one billion VND due to the huge expenses of building and maintenance costs, attract no attention. The second reason is that arts is not essential for humans. Human would not die because of lack aesthetic taste. Therefore, more attention could be paid to other fields such as education or economic rather than to arts.

Despite the above, I contend that the government should expenditure on arts. This is because arts contribute to express the national identity. Many museums display cultural heritages which contain information related to the nation's history. Therefore, people can gain a deeper understanding about culture diversity. Furthermore, these museums can attract attention from foreign tourists, resulting in increasing countries's income from tourism. For instance, museum "Nhà tù Hoả Lò" in Viet Nam attracts around millions of tourists per year, contributing to accelerate tourist's understanding about Viet Nam's culture and create more job opportunities for local people.

In conclusion, while some maintain that it is not advisable to invest money in arts, I believe that arts should be funded by governments since it can help to improve tourism industry and increase appreciation of culture.