Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Few argue that the government is spending money unnecessarily on various arts and the same amount could be put to better use for other issues. In my opinion, a separate budget for arts will always be a profit rather than loss. This essay will discuss the reason as to why spending on arts is required.

The various arts of the country represent it's rich culture. Losing such specialties would make the county more mechanic and the people mundane. In current times, people are focusing more on white-collar jobs rather than picking up art forms because of the low incomes in these professions. For instance, in India we have numerous dance forms but we rarely see any dance shows happening. This is because the number of people still practicing these classical dances has fallen. In order to encourage such forms of art and to richen the culture of the nation, government should put in extra efforts and money.

In addition to the rich culture, arts also bring in a plethora of tourists which will improve the country’s economy. To illustrate, Kathakali is an Indian dance form the southern state Kerela. It is recommended that every tourist who visits the state must experience this show for their exuberant performances . This brings in plenty of income for the government of Kerela. A special budget for building better auditoriums and improving the experience of the audience will make such shows more well-known.

In conclusion, even though we are facing many troubles which require money, the name and fame of the country should also be preserved. Hence, a small amount should be put aside each year by the authorities for the development of arts.