Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country while some people think it is bad Discuss both views and state your opinion

Whether hosting an international sports event is good for the country or not, is a controversial topic. From my perspective, although this will bring about both benefits and drawbacks, the positive sides will outweigh the negative one.

There are two reasons not to support one nation organising global sporting competitions. First of all, it may increase the tendency of violent and criminal behaviors. Since a great number of fans will go to the stadium to cheer the athletes, thieves may have high chance to sneak in the crowd, resulting in the incident of theft. Furthermore, there will appear hostile fans’ violence due to unpleasure with the matches’ result. Additionally, organising global sporting events can exert pressure on public budget, which enables one nation’s economy to be exhausted. This is due to the complex demand for preparation process, the host will lack investment in frustructure and facilities construction, which may lead to public debt and low quality in each event.

Nevertheless, I would argue that the disadvantages pale in comparison with the advantages. Firstly, hosting international sports event is considered to be the way to stimulate national economy. The host will have opportunity to gain profits from selling tickets, providing accomodations and trading local products for tourists when they set foot on this nation. Secondly, organizing global sporting competitions can boost tourism. If the host leaves a strong impression with visitors, which means that it is well-prepared, hospitable, safe and sound, they will give word of mouth publicity to it and visit again. Last but not least, organizing sports event may lead to country’s sporting positive movement. As athletes in the hosting country will train hard to compete for the sake of patriotism, this nation will have more and more elite sportspeope, which is of paramount importance to develop sports.

In conclusion, there are certainly some downsides of hosting sporting event. By contrast, if the event is organised properly, I still believe that the benefits will exceed the drawbacks.