Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Some people think that arranging an international sports event brings a myriad of benefits to the host country while other people believe that it has several drawbacks. In my opinion, while it has some adverse effects, the upside overshadows the downside.

On the one hand, hosting an international sports event has some demerits. Firstly, organizing international sporting events can leave the host country with budget deficits if only a small part of the investment costs is returned. After a country is chosen to host a sports event, a large number of venues is spent on the cost of security and other general infrastructures such as hotels and public transportation services. These facilities can be wasted if they are not reused after serving the event. For example, many stadiums were constructed to serve Olympic Athens in 2004 and since then, they have become degraded because of the lack of maintenance rendering them useless to hold events. After a country is chosen to host a sports event, a large number of venues is spent on the cost of security and other general infrastructures such as hotels and public transportation services. Additionally, in the context of Covid-19 pandemic as now, there are chances of spreading viruses during sports events, causing the outbreak of the epidemic. That is because many people from various countries and cultures attend such events so they may transmit viruses to others.

On the other hand, although running an international sport event has some disadvantages, its merits can be more glaring. By effectively hosting the athletic events, the host country may establish its reputation as a prosperous and civilized nation. People from all over the world will assess a country based on how successfully it runs sporting events. China, which hosted the 2008 'Olympic Games,' is a great example. Everyone had their worries and misgivings about China, but it astounded everyone with its flawless hosting of the world's most famous athletic event. China not only hosted the event with tremendous success, but it also succeeded in altering people's perceptions of the country around the world. In addition, conducting such events can help a country grow economically. People from all over the world will attend not only the sporting events, but also go on a visit to the host country's natural, cultural, and historical sites. The majority of those who attend such events are privileged and aristocratic, and they spend a lot of money on accommodations and entertainment. This in turn uplifts the tourism and related sectors such as art and craft of the country. Eventually, the revenue of the country increases making the country economically strong.

In conclusion, while hosting sports events has some demerits, I would contend that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.