Some people think that if a country is already rich, further economic development will not result in its citizens being any happier. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that citizens living in a wealthy country will not feel much happier even though that country makes further progress in its economics. From my perspective, I completely agree with this notion, and my reasons are twofold.

One primary reason is that stronger economic growth commonly results from heavier workloads. The purpose of making money is to satisfy daily necessities and have spare money for entertainment. When people have achieved these goals, they are unlikely to work harder to earn more money. But it is almost impossible for companies not to increase duties and prolong working hours while they want to have significant economic growth. Therefore, workers would have less time left to enjoy their lives outside the workplace.

Secondly and more importantly, though, the result of economic growth is not equally distributed to workers in most cases. Proponents of that money equal happiness often claim that we can have superior material lives by making more money; however, such an opinion overlooks the side effect which the problem of economic inequality might deteriorate, because the top management normally crops the fruits of success, whereas low-level employees gain little or even no change in their wages. And that is what is happening right now in Taiwan.

By way of conclusion, moderate economic development can meet people’s needs and make them feel happy, but overdevelopment would force labor to sacrifice their personal time and exacerbate income disparities. As a result, I strongly feel that it would not improve the happiness of citizens who lives in an already wealthy country.