One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the past few decades, humanity has made great progress in the field of health and healing. Such an improvement allows us to be no longer threatened by many deadly diseases anymore. It is often claimed that this trend is having an adverse impact on our society such as overpopulation. From my perspective, however, the benefits of medical advancement far outweigh its drawbacks.

One primary reason is for good to the development of human society because the society would have more workforce. In the era that medical knowledge was still primitive, the average lifespan of humans was only around 50, which had seriously stalled the pace of development. Numerous great scientists might have made more contributions if they had been given more time. Take Heinrich Hertz who died of illness at 36 as an example.

For those who are against this trend, the most important point is that extending life span could eventually lead to overpopulation and use up natural resources, which is already happened and become one of the world’s biggest problems right now. Nevertheless, these people overlook that the emotions and bonding we humans own. People can spend more time with their loved ones due to longer life expectancy. A direct benefit from this is that grandparents can take care of their grandchildren for their busy parents as both parents in a family have to work. Add to this the elders' precious experiences, and we can make use of them to build a better and prosperous world.

By way of conclusion, although improved medical care gives rise to several troubles, I strongly believe that this improvement can be only conducive to our society. Also, we should never see the elder generation as a burden, and instead, they are a treasure for us.