Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football. Other people think that taking part in individual sports like tennis and swimming is better. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people argue that the benefits of playing team sports are much more than that of individual sports. Although there are some benefits of playing individual sports, in this paper, I will argue that team sports can provide more advantages for us, and the reason is threefold.

First of all, it is vitally important to learn how to cooperate and communicate with others no matter you are in a school or a company. These social skills can be learned from participating in team sports such as baseball, football, and basketball which involve a high level of collaboration. If someone in the team does not get along with the teammates and they always want to be in the spotlight, the whole team will not function well. Therefore, those players need not only to improve their sports skills but also to develop interpersonal skills for the sake of success.

In addition to collaboration, it cannot be denied that those who play team sports, in general, would develop a sturdy friendship with their teammates. For example, I was playing volleyball at the university where I found a feeling of belonging, in each contest, my teammates and I always got each other’s back. We together went through those tough practices and numerous combats, and sharing these memories allows us to build a sense of unity and friendship, even though we are in different places now.

Proponents of individual sports often claim that only this kind of sports can teach people to be independent because no one can rely on during the game. However, the situation also happens in many team sports that each member has their responsibility. For instance, every baseball player needs to defend a specific position and it is impossible to always count on others.

In conclusion, both sports can provide great benefits to people’s lives, but I believe that playing team sports has more advantages because of cooperation and making new friends.