Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, the use of mobile phones in people’s spare time has witnessed a great increase. Consequently, some people regard this pastime as a waste of time, a valuable resources while some people find it worth their time. In this essay, I will present reasons behind this phenomenon before coming to a conclusion whether it is a beneficial or harmful trend.

To begin with, it is clear that nowadays mobile phones have become a universal device used for various purposes. As a all-in-one compact gadget, a mobile phone offers its user a chance to keep themselves entertained, search for information, maintain and expand their social circles. For example, with the widespread availability of the Internet, people can instantly get access to video-sharing platforms like YouTube or Tiktok to unwind after a long day at work or school. Furthermore, these websites also offer a sea of information coming in handy with their jobs or school subjects. To illustrate, many have learned a great deal from tutorial and knowledge-sharing videos uploaded by experts or accredited organisations. Therefore, it is no exaggeration to say that mobiles, powered by the Internet, have become an indispensable part of our lives and are used constantly in people’s leisure time.

However, it is obvious that some people are spending their time on unnecessary activities on their mobile phones. In other words, their time is passed without beneficial gains. They may waste their time in chit-chat, unproductive talks on the Internet or completely absorbed in video games. As a result, they lose the track of time and their leisure activities encroach on their productive time during which they are supposed to do their jobs or study. Worse, some end up having bad grades or losing their productivity or even face with bitter outcomes. For example, my cousin was expelled out of university due to his negligence of study as he was totally engrossed by the temptations of online games. Furthermore, his being discharged from school is not the rare occurrence. In fact, there is a staggeringly huge number of students being forced to leave or suspended from their study because of their excessive use of mobile phones.

To conclude, with the above-mentioned arguments, I find this trend is, by and large, a positive development. However, mobile phone users need to draw a line between their leisure time and productive time. Otherwise, they will be confronted with some undesired consequences.