Some people think an international car-free day is an effective way to reduce air pollution. Others think there are more effective ways to do this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is believed that one of choices to decline air pollution is Government globally does a day without cars on the road due to saving vehicle’s fuel. However, the effectiveness of odd-even method system is an alternative ways.

A wide world car-free day system is generally saving more fuel in order to grow down the amount of air pollution. That is to say, automobiles banned going through the road, especially main road with crowded road users. This causes the fuel is not used and kept it more efficient. As a result, vehicle’s users lead to use fuel in appropriate way, so they tend to keep more money allocating to purchase fuel. For instance, in 2010, since the policy of Government in Malaysia prohibited using cars in weekend, the number of cars’ users kept money relating to expenditure for fuel rose, leading to save fund from 5 million to 30 million rupiah a year for purchasing about 30 liters refill.

This contrasted to other society that implementing odd-even method system on the road has a tendency to reduce air pollution due to monitoring busy road. This is because, the number of public and private cars avoided from traffic congestion, and this tends to vehicles are easy to move forward. Therefore, it is necessary to remove condensed air pollution due to cars’ exhaust, resulting road users inhaling less of pollutants. For example, Jakarta, the capital city of Indonesia has been applied odd-even regulation for a decade, between 2000 and 2010, possible reducing gas emission of cars in the main road approximately 780 micrograms per cubic meter every year.

Odd-even method system becomes viable strategy to avoid high-density of cars on the road. The Government might tackles the air pollution problems since it is more likely lower usage of fuel. Where possible, the Government should control implementation of the strategy to avoid severe impacts of air pollution.