Some people think that it is best to live in a vertical city (mean that people work and live in high buildings) while others think a horizontal city is better. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

While many believe in vertical cities as the best choice for urban living, others think that a city which is horizontally developed is much better. Although I agree with the latter position, this essay will analyse both views.

There are reasons why many opt for vertical cities. To begin with, they feel a sense of community when sharing a space with others. Further, many people now prefer living in a home where everything is laid out on a single floor plan as they see managing an apartment is less stressful than a house. Finally, many countries simply do not have space to build horizontal cities. Singapore is a prime example; in this city state, people see highrises as an optimal option that marries the needs of both residence and green spaces.

However, I am convinced that horizontal city is better for a number of reasons. Firstly, this way of urbanisation is more sustainable as it frees people from the stress of living in a concrete jungle (i.e. a vertical city). Secondly, developing a horizontal city helps minimise the level of destruction when a city is hit by manmade or natural disasters such as September 11 attacks or earthquakes. Thirdly, if megacity and skyscrapers become nothing but an obsession, it is certainly not a good trend. Environmentally speaking, this trend poses an immense pressure on the world's increasingly scarce resources when resources are consumed in massive amounts to power these glass walled buildings, let alone the greenhouse gas emissions during the building process.

In conclusion, though developing vertical cities is an inevitable trend, I would campaign for horizontal cities as a sustainable future for urban development.