Some people think that it is better for a country’s economy for people to spend money while others believe that it would be better for people to save money. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

A few believe that spending money has positive effects on a country’s economy, while others feel that saving money would be a better choice. I strongly advocate the opinion that cutting down on lavish expenses would be beneficial to an individual. This essay discusses the positive and negative aspects of squandering money.

On one hand, spending money helps in boosting a country’s economy. It is true that consumer spending helps in improving a country’s economy as all the goods that we purchase are subjected to taxes, and hence buying more and more products would increase the amount of taxes that could be collected by the government. This money so collected can be used for the benefit of the public like constructing roads, schools, and parks which would help in improving our standard of living.

On the other hand, there are a number of personal benefits associated with saving money. Being a spendthrift can result in bankruptcy. In the current modern era, we humans look for ways to save our hard-earned money for our future use as the cost of living is skyrocketing day by day. Furthermore, this money can be invested in a bank to earn a small interest. For instance, Canara bank provides a 5% interest per annum on the principle sum so invested which means that a person can earn 5% of the total amount of money per annum. This money so saved could be spent on other important aspects like education which surely is an expensive affair in the present day. The money so saved can be utilized during emergency situations. Hence, saving money is proven to be beneficial.

In a nutshell, saving money is more beneficial than spending it on improving a nation’s economy as there are other ways to boost it.