Some people think that it is better for a country s economy for people to spend money while others believe that it would be better for people to save money Discuss both sides and give your opinion

It is considered by some that spending help improves a nation economically, while others think that saving money offers additional advantages. Although consumer spending creates new job opportunities, I believe it is essential for a country to save for the future of its citizens.

On the one hand, many think there are obvious economic benefits for a country when its citizens purchase more goods. This is because, when there is an increase in outlay on products and services, a reasonable number of the population becomes gainfully employed. In other words, the spending of one typically becomes the earnings of the other. For instance, many of the current goods manufactured in places like China and sold to Europe and North America require shipping either by land or sea. As a result, more people will be employed in the transport and construction industry, as the warehouses and stores will expand. Also, the government will generate more from tax from the boom in businesses and the global workforce. The revenue generated can be used in other public services like healthcare and education.Thus, it is profitable when people spend rather than save.

On the other hand, a country grows when people save, according to some. On obvious reason for this is that saving offers considerable practical immediate and long-term benefits. As an illustration, the ongoing unprecedented pandemic has caused a significant number of the population, lose their jobs businesses have also closed down. The monies kept as savings serve as stimulus packages to the concerned individuals, which has assisted them to cope with the financial hardships. Moreover, when people save to a greater extent, banks can lend more to firms for investments. Hence, the more savings, the more the available money for investments, the more economic growth.

In conclusion, although there are more job opportunities when people spend, I think a country’s economy stands a better chance to progress if the citizens are encouraged to save.