Some people think that it is better for a country’s economy for people to spend money while others believe that it would be better for people to save money.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is considered by some that spending help improves a nation economically, while others think that saving money offers additional advantages. Although consumer spending creates new job opportunities, I believe that it is essential for a country to save for the future of its citizens.

On the one hand, many think there are obvious economic benefits for a country when its citizens purchase more goods. This is because when there is an increase in outlay on products and services, a good number of the population becomes gainfully employed. In other words, the spending of one typically becomes the earnings of the other. For instance, many of the current goods manufactured in places like China and sold to continents like Europe and North America require shipping either by land or sea. This will create jobs in the transport and construction industry from the expansion of their warehouses and stores for the products. Also, the government will generate more from tax as a result of the boom in businesses and the large workforce. The revenue generated can be used in other public services such as healthcare and education. Thus, it is profitable when people spend rather than save.

On the other hand, a country benefits economically when people save according to some. On obvious reason for this is that saving offers considerable positive immediate and long-term benefits. Take for example, the ongoing unprecedented pandemic has made a large number of the population lose their jobs, businesses have also been forced to close down. The monies kept as savings serve as stimulus packages to the affected individuals, which has helped them to cope with the financial hardships. Besides, when people save more, banks will be able to lend more to firms for investments. This means, the more savings, the more the available money for investments, the more economic growth.

In conclusion, although there is high demand and more job opportunities when people spend, I think that a country’s economy stands a better chance to progress and become less reliant if the citizens are encouraged to save.