Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football. But others think taking part in individual sports is better, like swimming. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinion is divided as to whether participating in team sports has more benefits than individual ones. Both views have their own powerful/good arguments and they are going to be elaborated on in this essay.

On the one hand, the major advantage of participating in sports which are played in teams is that athletes can form strong bonds among themselves and even with others socially. While practicing and competing in a team, teammates have to set a common goal in mind which is to achieve victory for the whole team. This goal can only be fulfilled if there is understanding, empathy and selflessness among team members. And when they have possessed such great qualities, they could definitely apply them in any area in society to attain accomplishments. According to the survey conducted by a reputable newspaper in 2019, 84% of interviewees who were either amateur or professional team sportsmen revealed that they could maintain good relationships with their team members and be socially active in off-field time.

On the other hand, one of the main reasons why some are keen on taking up an individual sport is because of the high level of concentration and determination it can bring to participants. Unlike team sports where players may rely on each other for support, athletes in individual sports have to continuously motivate themselves to keep practicing and aiming for the highest position. Through that process, they have formed self-discipline and an unwavering will and it is undeniably useful when they have to be faced with any hardship in life.

In conclusion, both types of sports can bring huge benefits to those who are willing to take up any of them. In my opinion, it does not matter which sports to choose, what is more significant is people are able to pursue a sport they like or have a passion for so as to gain pleasure, better health or hard-earned success.