Some people think it is more important for government to spend public money on promoting healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is increasing concern over the government spending on medical system. While some people think that the nation budget should be spent on promoting healthy lifestyle to prevent illness, others argue that the government should use this public money to cure ill people. In my opinion, I agree with the former idea which encourages people to have a healthy lifestyle is the best way to improve the citizen’s health.

To begin with, by raising the citizen’s awareness about the healthy lifestyle, an individual would have a responsibility to their own health. For instance, nowadays, the cleanliness and prestigious in food manufacture become the main priority in the decision of an individual’s choice. Moreover, a campaign about having an unhealthy lifestyle also lead to some common serious diseases such as obesity, heart and lungs diseases. As a result, the number of juveniles and young adults use cigarettes and alcohol also witnessed a remarkable decrease. Besides, the government also need to adjust the budget to construct more public park and sports centre to encourage the citizen do more exercise on their daily basis.

On the other hand, although there is a significant increase in the demand for the medical treatment for each individual, the money expense on these treatments is considerably large. The government do have a certain fund to fulfil this need by encouraging the citizen to engage in national insurance. Thus, in my opinion, the government should invest more money in medical research to create more efficient treatment method or vaccine to immunize children for preventing illness rather than curing only a small group of patients.

In conclusion, I personally believe that the government should be more concerned with promoting healthy lifestyle.