Some people think it’s fine for professional sportsmen to misbehave on or off the field, as long as they are playing well. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Sports play an influential role in our society by motivating individuals directly as well as indirectly. Some people opine that it is fair for sportsmen to misbehave on or off the field if he is consistently performing while others oppose this. I think it’s unacceptable for a player to breach the discipline even if they are playing well and this essay will discuss the same.

Overall, sportsmen act as a role model for certain people and they inherit various moral values from players. But, there are players who misconduct themselves which sets a wrong example for the society and might lead to inheritance of false values. Nevertheless, certain individuals still consider such act worthy until the player is in good form and performs individually irrespective of the team performance. This might lead to disruption of team’s healthy environment and might create a sense individualism amongst players because of the fact that people support the player and not a team. Nevertheless, the performance of team matters because it is necessary to play well if players need to maintain their mental stress. So, if a single player carries the responsibility of a whole team for a prolonged period it might affect the player mentally and may lead to aggressive and inappropriate behavior. Such arrogant behavior of a single player may lead to downfall of the whole team if not controlled timely.

Moreover, even off the field performance of a player is considered as it equally plays a determinant role in success and influencing people. A player needs to maintain his prestige in front of media as media is a powerful source of promoting themselves as well their good deeds. However, the same media can prove to be crucial factor in destroying their career in the light of fact that media business is based on TRP and they consider promoting what’s beneficial for them rather than player. For example, if a player organizes food camps for indigents a positive impact is created on society but on small scale as it wasn’t highlighted by media but if the same player behaves arrogantly and is egoistic the negative impact is quickly created due to its highlight in media.

In conclusion, although if a sports person is performing well and scaling new heights it is necessary for him to maintain discipline in his life in order to influence the people and the team and also to maintain his respect for his off field integrity.