Some people think that the main purpose of school is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit children as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether the ultimate responsibility of educational institutions is shaping students into productive citizens or fostering the awareness of individual advantages. While I agree with this idea, I also think that it is of paramount importance to train children as people who gain for themselves.

It goes without saying that schools play a pivotal role in teaching disciplines and training skills that turn students into productive citizens and workers. Teachers, undoubtedly, are those who guide children in differentiating between right and wrong as well as leading them to take the right path in life. Once moral lessons are fully obtained, children can be principled and aware of the significance of being good citizens. Also, since the dawn of time, the primary function of education is to enhance the understanding of people; thus, it is the schools’ responsibility to provide their students with essential knowledge as well as practical skills to be intellectual and become innovative workers in the job market.

However, schools should benefit children as individuals because these institutes are crucial in  helping children to emotionally develop and unleash their potential. Firstly, children promote their early social interaction with peers at school, via which they can foster friendships and companionship. Thus, these social contacts are proven to be helpful in assisting the advancement of internal emotion as well as feeling. Besides, through subjects learning at educational establishments, children have more chances to expose themselves to various fields, which would accordingly help them discover their likes and dislikes. In this way, schools’ aim is achieved in terms of nourishing students’ strengths and improving their weaknesses.

In conclusion, although it is said that the major function of schools should be training children to become productive citizens and laborers, I would agree that educational institutions ought to fulfill their duty by helping students to gain benefits for themselves.