Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, more people tend to register for a social network or banking account by providing their personal information online. Although there are many benefits to doing this, I strongly believe that the merits are outweighed by its drawbacks.

On the one hand, technology is making things more accessible. Firstly, it makes signing up for an account more convenient for users. For instance, instead of going to the bank and completing paperwork to open up a stock account as before, now people can stay at home and provide their information online, which helps them save much time doing these registrations. Secondly, for those who are often absent-minded, putting their information online is a good option to remember several kinds of passwords or answers to security questions. In other words, they just need to provide their phone numbers or email address to get themselves verified. It is especially lucrative in case of an emergency.

On the other hand, there are multiple downsides of putting personal information on social platforms. First and foremost, the users could become a target for physical and identity theft. To illustrate, if people post their address on social media, the thefts could acquire it and then easily break into their houses. Even worse, the criminals could impersonate them to claim insurance. Another disadvantage of putting personal information online is that people are prone to receive more distracting commercial advertisements. It is reported that most social media companies, including Facebook and Tiktok, make a profit by collecting their users’ data and then selling it to telesales people.

In conclusion, despite the convenience that putting information online brings, people should be alert as it is currently doing more harm than good.