Some people think the manufacturers or shopping malls should sell less packaged products and others argue that people have the responsibility to buy products with less packaging. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is a matter of debate whether the manufacturers should reduce the amount of packaged products or customers should take responsibility for buying products with less packaging. In my opinion, the former is a viable solution to the problems faced by buyers.

On the one hand, individuals believing stores or companies should lessen the packaging of products is due to their concern of environmental protection. Discarded packaging from users is known to be one of the main culprits that contributes significantly to the environmental crisis. Thus, many people think that shops should offer fewer packaged goods to minimize the amount of thrown-away packaging on the streets or in oceans. Moreover, some packaging can be inconvenient for customers such as being multi-layered or bulky and wasting their time and effort when unpacking purchased items. Heavy packaging can also deter buyers from carrying products home due to its weight.

On the other hand, others assume that people are responsible for buying less packaged products because they argue that purchasers need to be conscious of their own preferences. If people purchase items like food or clothing and store them in their own containers or bags, this might decrease the demand for packaged products. Owing to this, many manufacturers have to gradually lessen the packaging, thereby preventing littering on roads or in seas.

Considering two notions, I believe that the second belief might be a suggestion to raise awareness of customers instead of helping them the most efficiently, because there are some people unfamiliar with this approach. As when a company reduces packaging, it emphasizes the need for consumers to provide their own bags or containers. Furthermore, less packaging means an easier access to products as it saves time and effort.

In conclusion, although raising people’s awareness of buying things with fewer packaging is practical, I believe that manufacturers’ approaches to reduce packaging are the most beneficial to every customer.