Some people think that media news has become much more influential in people's lives today and it is a negative development. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, mass media news is increasingly affecting the viewers’ perceptions and opinions. Thus, some people think that it may bring a negative impact on the society in general. In my view, while the influence of news is indeed significant, this development might deliver some benefits.

To begin with, there are several reasons why individuals say such influence from media news is unfavorable to the society. Since the majority of public publishers are being controlled strictly by governments nowadays, there will be a number of articles with untrue facts or information posted. Therefore, a large proportion of residents might change their way of thinking and lean towards the authority side in national problems. In other words, propagandas implemented in media news might turn citizens against each other, which leads to a reversed development of a nation. In addition, the plethora of information from sources and means such as paper-based and online newspapers keeps piling up every day. As a result, readers may be frustrated with different ideas and contents of the same matter.

However, the aforementioned setbacks show only one aspect of the influence of news. Aside from political articles, there are plenty of useful information on the newspapers that viewers can absorb and use to make personal decisions. For example, researches and surveys in distribution problem can help to convince people to change their mind when deciding to settle in areas with high density. Furthermore, by reading from many information sources, individuals will have different opinions to argue about matters and reduce the bias towards a single idea. As long as these arguments are righteous and reasonable, they will inevitably make the society grow in many aspects.

In conclusion, while media news is more influential in people’s lives, this development still proves to have positive effects on the society.