Some people think that the media should not report details of crimes to the public. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, the mass media plays an important role in transmitting all kinds of information to every corner of the world, especially criminal activities. A part of the people believes that the specifics of crimes should not be disclosed to the community. In my opinion, I do not completely agree with this idea because of a couple of rational reasons that I will discuss below.

On the one hand, the publication of crimes causes an adverse impact on children, adolescents, and some other components. According to Jacqueline Helfgott, a professor of criminal justice at Seattle University, some studies indicate that criminals obtain their ideas for their crimes from the media and that the media does appear to affect at least a subset of people. She claims that “excessive media attention to a specific type of crime can be a risk factor for criminal behavior.” Kids and youngsters are the most affected when they are exposed to information about criminal activities. People at this age are sensitive and prone to imitation, so if they do not get timely education, their psychological development will be seriously affected. In addition, someone in a psychopathic status will appreciate criminals as idols and imitate their actions, as a result, the number of wrong-doers increases.

By contrast, public disclosure of cases creates a wonderful source of data for specific subjects. First, crimes that are generally detailed give more materials to criminologists and someone interested in criminology. Take me as an example, I am really into detective books but reading is not enough, so I need information from the real cases and the media was useful. Besides, people can easily know the details of criminal activities and find out the solution to protect themselves. For example, the media reports robberies occur on deserted roads and the victims are those who ride alone, so people should take crowded roads and go with friends or family.

In short, openly revealing criminal activities will have some consequences, it also helps people to perceive and prevent crime nevertheless.