Some people think that in the modern world getting old is entirely bad Others however think that life of elderly in the modern world is much better than it was in the past Discuss both views and give your opinion

People have yet to reach a consensus on if aging in the modern era is much better than in the past, with some doubting this argument and others advocating it. The essay analyzes these viewpoints using multidimensional lenses, thereby adding weight to my support for the second view.

Proponents of the first view could defend their stand when citing concerns about the environment and technology for the elderly. Accordingly, the rise of technology has contributed in no small part to the increasing mental problems of the elderly. For example, the proliferation of social networking sites, say Facebook or Tiktok, has deepened the gap between the elderly and their children, with young people spending most of their time surfing newsfeed or posting videos. As a result, the elderly may suffer a sense of loneliness, sometimes irrelevance and disorientation. Also, today’s degraded environment is worth considering. Contrary to the past when air contamination and water pollution happened occasionally and locally, they are now the pressing issues of the 21st century, with increasing frequency and immense impacts on people’s health. Consequently, today’s old people have been increasingly susceptible to respiratory diseases and cancers.

Yet, people can find aging much better than in the past when seeing this problem through economic and societal lenses. Economically, today’s old people have a better solid financial foundation than their parents and grandparents did. Less than 100 years ago, people had to face wars taking place frequently, most citizens in the Third World had to work in a zero-sum game economy, and pension was a luxury. Today, all these problems have nearly gone as most citizens can enjoy long lasting peace, take advantage of globalization and economic integration, and hence can have savings and cushions of money for their old days, not to mention the fact that pension policies have become prevalent in many countries. Equally important is the improved public welfare. Contrary to the past when rarely did elderly citizens receive public welfare, this is nearly universal in today’s world, reflected in free medical services and financial support packages for old people, regardless of their financial status.

In conclusion, although changes in the modern world have posed concerns about the elderly’s health problems, great leaps in terms of economic and societal fields have provided the elderly with unprecedentedly sufficient living conditions, making aging in today’s world much better than in the past.