Some people think movies should only be for entertainment. Others think that they should also have educational values.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While a number of people think that watching films only brings entertainment purposes, others hold the view that movies should provide societies with a good informational opportunity. Personally, I believe that films can be either, or both, entertaining and educational; however, it is up to each individual to choose what films they like to watch and for what reasons they watch them.

First and foremost, these days, films and TV are extremely popular forms of entertainment among communities. After a long day of working and studying, many people simply want to come and sit in front of the TV to relax and be entertained, and spend precious time with their families. This allows them to forge strong relationships with other family members, achieve a better work-life balance. Additionally, films and televisions are part of the entertainment industry. The purpose of this industry is entertainment, and it is a multibillion-dollar industry that creates jobs and generates a lot of money in many countries.

On the other hand, acquiring news via television or films allows people to stay updated about current affairs happening around them and the world thereby making appropriate adjustments. Many people’s morals and values are shaped by what they watch on TV and in films, thus people should be careful about how the contents of the films they watch affect them and their families. Not only adults but children can be adversely affected if they choose the inappropriate content to see. For example, some cartoon movies now contain violent scenes, and if children have a chance to watch it, they might copy and do the same behavior to other people. By contrast, watching a film about war may cause people to have a strong sense of patriotism for their country which could be seen as a beneficial educational effect.

In conclusion, I believe that films can be either, or both, academic or entertainment purposes. While some education films, such as documentaries, can be entertaining or several entertainment movies can be an educational tool. It mainly depends on which contents and information people choose to see.