Some people think that new technology always improves the lives of workers Other people believe that it results in disadvantages for workers Discuss both the views and give your opinion

Technology has gained a significant popularity amongst the society. It is often argued by people that whether the technology has made worker's life easy or not. I believe it has reduced the workload and increased the productivity, however, it reduces the employement opportunities as well which will be discussed in the subsequent paragraphs.

Technology has brought numerous benefits for the workers. To begin with, diminishing the work pressure by eliminating the manual work. Because of the advancement in technological gadgets and machinery, people do not need to indulge in the physical work. For instance, few decades ago, labours used to dig holes manually on a site, but after the invention of the machinery, they no longer do such things phsically. Hence, it definitely makes life easier than ever before. In addition, increasing the productivity enhances the chance of promotion and earning potential which will significantly improve the lifestyle. More productivity means more recognition which is directly connected with wages or salaries. Therefore, modern technology has a great influence on the worker's life.

However, with increasing technology, there are few detrimental affects on their lives. First and foremost, as technology is growing, it is reducing the job oppprtunities in the market. There were plethora of jobs available for people but now the number is going down as technical devices have taken over. It has been observed that government for a construction project used to employ approx 750 people whereas, the number has been decreased to 280. It is significantly clear that technology is costing jobs of workers. Not only this, people need to acquire new set of skills in order to deal with the advanced technology otherwise they will loose their work. It is mandatory to enhance the abilities to stay in competition. For example, shifting from paper based approach to computers require a certificate or diploma in excel. Therefore, there are some negative aspects as well which cannot be overlooked.

To summarize, although the technology is advantageous for workers as it lessen the workload and pessure, it costs employement and needs to add more pragmatic skills in the knowledgebase.