Some people think that the news media nowadays have influenced people’s lives in negative ways. Others disagree and say that they have been more positive. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In these days media plays a major role in people's lives by spreading the news throughout the world. Effects of news media cause a controversy which has two sides of view, both negative and positive. I find it more justified to assert that news media have a positive impact on society.

On the one hand, critics believe news media distort our lives. This notion comes from the negative effects of media such as changing our ideas and the way we are thinking. As an example could be provided by mentioning the way of advertising in news. Some issues are spread for propaganda purposes and news emphasizes one part of the situation. In this way, news not only gains its purposes but also changes people's mind. Furthermore, it is accepted that what we hear and see affects on our lives. So, news media by broadcasting terrible news such as crisis, inflation and so forth cause hopeless in society. These negative point of view have influenced our lives by hopeless and changing our mind, however people can decide to follow good news and do some researches about what they hear or read.

Conversely, some people firmly hold that news media have influenced people's lives in positive ways. One rational explanation of this view is news makes people aware of what is happening around the world. To be more precise, news media provides general information and knowledge which make people aware of everything they tend to know such economic, politics, sports and technology. These knowledge help us make a correct decision in a hard situation as if we faced it several times.

In conclusion, some news spread for propaganda purposes and maybe cause hopeless. However, general information and knowledge can help people make the right decision in their lives.