Some people think that organizing international sports events is good for the host country while others think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Hosting international sports events has been popular for years around the world. It is true that there are controversies whether it brings benefits to the host country or not. While many people object to this activity, I agree with those who advocate the advantages of organizing sports events. In this essay, both views will be discussed.

On the one hand, a country can take advantage of organizing sports events

in many aspects regarding the country’s development. Firstly, the country where big sports events are held can develop tourism. Sports events attract more tourists around the world to go on holiday to famous destinations through promoting the country’s culture and customs alongside the live sports broadcasts. When the tourism sector is bolstered, the economy can also witness a rise. Secondly, when leading the event, it is the opportunity for the host country to gain reputation and enhance the relationships with other countries who participate in the sports events. In the period of organizing sports events, diplomacy is required more, which would require both countries to communicate well in order to ensure the success of the event.

On the other hand, sports events can be prohibitively expensive, affecting directly on the finance of the government. One of the possible drawbacks here is overspending for sports events, which leads to debt. Debts happen when the development of the economy is not substantial to cover a huge amount of money paid for the slot of hosting international events, along with the other budgets for the infrastructure, necessities, facilities needed for smooth operation. Moreover, it will be detrimental to the society when the general populace lose trust for the government because of misspending and corruption. For example, when hosting a sports event, the government must curb public spending on the necessities for the public, especially aids for the poor.

In conclusion, one country can host a sports event if its finance is affordable in order to advance the development progress of the country.