Some people think that organizing international sports events is good for the host country while others think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion

Hosting international sports events plays a certain role all over the world in many different ways.There are controversies whether it brings benefits for the host country or not. In this essay, both positive and negative views will be discussed.

On the one hand, a country can take advantage of organizing sports events in many aspects regarding the country’s development. First of all, the country where big sports events are held can develop tourism and the economy. It is clear that the number of foreigners visiting a country tends to increase, not only do they watch the games, but also spend time going on holiday and travelling to famous destinations. As a result, tourism at the same time can be boosted and contributes to economic development. Moreover, when leading the event, it is the opportunity for the host country to gain reputation and enhance the relationships with other countries who participate in the sports events. For example, Vietnam hosted Sea Games in 2018 making the country to be more well-known over Asia through news, sponsorships, and TV programs. Diploma is also needed more in the period of sports events, which would require both countries to communicate well in order to ensure the success of the event.

On the other hand, some people still doubt the drawbacks of being a host country in these sports events. One of the possible negative effects here is the increase of the country's debt when using too much government budget for facilities improvement and event preparations. Debts happen when the development of the economy is not enough to cover a huge amount of money paid for the slot of hosting international events,along with the other budgets for organizing events. Another drawback in this case is the conflicts between foreigners and the people of the host country. It is undeniable that in big events, such as the World Cup, there are fights between spectators from two countries after the match, which can affect directly to both countries when losing control.

In conclusion, the pros of hosting international sports events turn out to be more regarding the cons. But many people still raise a question about this situation, so it cannot be stated clearly.