Some people think that organizing international sports events is good for the host country while others think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Some people opine that it is advantageous for a country to host the global sports events, while from other’s perspective, such events pose detrimental influences. This essay will examine both discussions in greater detail and state my own opinion.

On the one hand, organizing an international athletic competition brings the host nation numerous benefits. First and foremost, such an occasion is the opportunity to enhance the host’s reputation. Take Japan, the organiser of Olympic 2020, as an example, through the images and videos displayed on the televisions’ screen, international audiences understand more about that country and may be attracted not only by Japanese tradition and culture, but also their economic development. Therefore, the host can become a famous destination for tourists all over the world. Furthermore, holding a tournament can raise social awareness about sports and their positive impacts on both mental and physical health. Thus, the residents can logically adjust their lifestyle healthier.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that holding international sports events can result in serious problems. Firstly, the host country may suffer a gigantic debt when the tournament takes place. The government needs to rebuild or upgrade numerous facilities and infrastructure, which means that they have to spend a massive amount of money on such investments. In addition, that tourists around the world flock to the host country during the event can threaten national security. And that may lead to the increase in crime and illegal actions.

From my point of view, I totally agree with the statement that organizing an international sports event is beneficial for a country because of its long-lasting profit.

To conclude, even though there are still some drawbacks, the advantages of holding sports competitions outweighs the disadvantages. However, the host nation should enforce policies to minimize the unfavourable effects.