Some people think that parents have a great influence on their children. Others believe that the media is a bigger influence. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whether folks or the media have a more significant impact on their children remains a contentious topic. This essay will take both sides into consideration and give my verdict that both aspects are in equal essence.

On the one hand, parents have an indispensable influence on their offspring regarding smartness and social development. Initially, parents contribute significantly to children’s IQ index. To be more precise, children’s brightness has a close connection with that of their parents according to the process of heredity. For example, intelligent mothers have a higher tendency to give birth to intelligent children than normal ones and vice versa. Besides, parents gain a deep understanding of their children from daily life so children’s ability and personality can be shaped by their parents. Also, parents have more opportunities to assist their offspring in cultivating their flairs and accumulating their social experience through daily activities.

On the other hand, the media also exerts a considerable impact on children as it is widespread and its role as an academic tool. Along with the proliferation of cutting-edge technology, media, such as online social networking sites and online news, can be widely accessed by a large number of children. Therefore, children may be aware of current propaganda and hot issues happening around them. Moreover, the media can also act as an effective tool for studying. For instance, some teachers encourage students to watch news outside school time to sharpen the skill of gathering information and concentration.

In conclusion, while parents play an essential role in their offspring’s intelligence and social development, the media also influences considerably on children in terms of its spread and its role as an academic tool. Therefore, I concur that both aspects are of equal significance.