Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Is it believed by some that the best way to teach children good manners and how to be civil in society is through their parents. Others, however, disagree and are strong believers that schools should have such responsibility.

As children, we look up to our parents for everything, and they set an example for how to be good members of society: everything we learn, we do because they teach us ever since we are born. The pros of this point of view are that parents live with the children day and night and have the possibility to show them how one is supposed to act in different contexts in public but, on the other hand, not every child has the possibility to grow up with both mother and father or have the chance to learn directly from them.

A different point of view is sustained by those who believe that this responsibility should be taken by schools: the school environment and teachers have, indeed, the potentiality to educate children on this particularly important subject that is civic education. The advantages come from the chance of sensitizing kids of all age groups while they are all together in class, during their school hours, but disadvantages may come from the possibility of them considering such subject only as a school subject to study in order to get good grades, and not paying as much attention as they should.

Personally, I believe that the best choice should be a combination of both views, with parents orienting their children toward the importance of good manners and behavior in society, and schools supporting moms and dads with dedicated hours and teachers, in order to give kids a complete education.