Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others however believe that governments should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One of the highly controversial issues these days relates to whether people should individually take care of their lifestyle or if it should be a government's responsibility to ensure healthier diets for their citizens. In my opinion, both parties should make it their own responsibility and turn into practice every knowledge about healthy and sustainable lifestyle.

On one side of the argument, there are those who believe that leading a healthy lifestyle is only an individual's responsibility. Everyone is entitled to live the way they want to, and so it is their choice to eat in a way that benefits them and not one that damages them. Moreover, choosing to be more active every day, buying organic produce for the household or not eating fast foods anymore are all choices that a person can make only when they willingly decide to do so. If one is not willing to make the efforts necessary to take care of his/her own health, other people cannot decide in their place. Disposition to lead healthier lifestyles only comes from within.

On the other hand, governments are deeply involved in the health issues of their citizens. One good illustration of their involvement is the taxes, which we pay on food such as fresh produce, meat, and fish, that are constantly rising instead of decreasing. Unless organic and locally sourced products are taxed less by the administration, people will always find it difficult to not rely on cheaper unhealthy foods. It is the governments' responsibility to make available more healthy choices, create campaigns that highlight the importance of healthy lifestyles and financially support their citizens who live in poverty.

After having discussed the most pertinent points of this issue, I feel that the only logical conclusion is that the advantages of having the governments involved in their people's health outweigh the possible disadvantages. Individuals need to be supported in their choices regarding their lifestyles by the public administration, for no other institution could do it better.