Some people think that personal happiness is directly related to economic success. Others argue that happiness depends on different factors.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Personal joy and pleasure are inextricably linked with financial success according to some people, whereas others argue that this depends upon other extrinsic factors to economic wealth. I contend that both arguments are justified in diverse dimensions in accordance with each individual’s definition of happiness.

For one thing, a reasonable justification for those who advocate that the mental well-being of a person is associated with economic prosperity is the demand for a sense of secured material satisfaction about life. Individuals whose ability to afford possessions and relish an ideal living standard are often the desirable models for the others. This group is able to pursue their dreams without concerns of an ordinary person to survive such as seeking for vacancies in today’s fierce job market or being headed for financial crisis when paying for various aspects of the living costs. They derive a sense of financial security from the economic success they attained. Yet, the target for such pleasures are a unanimous target of the general civilians when none of them want to endure poor living quality, leading to a growing number of proponents for this view.

For another, the opponents’ view could be explained by some reasons, chief of which is that the definition of a happy life varies in people's attitudes and perspective and economic achievements are not the final goal to them solely. Personnel in different domains such as researchers, teachers belong to the knowledgeable part of the society. Happiness to them constitutes the maximum potential in working abilities to observe the results or enlighten and gear the others toward meaningful life. For instance, a tutor will feel proud of the good grades of the students, reflecting the results of his effective guidance and instruction, which in turn will kindle his passion in the job. The meaningful outlets they pursue are merely the goal for their endeavors, considering the joy of people is also the pleasure of themselves.

To conclude, both views hold certain validity and I partially agree with all of which for the aforementioned reasons. It is important to note that happiness strongly depends on personal attitudes and their perspectives about life.