Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Sports competitions are common throughout the world. It could be argued that to achieve success when competing, it is vital to reach peak physical fitness, rather than focus solely on mental fortitude. In my opinion, the determining factor for success depends on the type of sport.

A significant number of professional athletes believe that physical endurance is of utmost importance when preparing for competitions because it is the key to success. As a result, they are assigned rigorous training programs to ensure they maintain their peak fitness. This can be seen when Olympic short-distance swimmers participate in daily hour-long training sessions throughout the year to maintain their optimal physique. If such importance was not placed on physical abilities, they would not be in adequate shape to compete with other participants. Thus, physical fitness is thought to be, by some, to be the most important factor to win competitions.

On the other hand, mental endurance is considered vital when competing in long-distance sports such as full marathons or triathlons. This is because, in these types of obstacles, athletes are required to have a certain level of mental fitness, to push through the challenges. Triathletes are expected to run, bike and swim multi-kilometer distances, during which they may face internal struggles as to whether to give up - due to the pain - or endure the struggle until they reach the finish line. If these disciplined athletes do not develop mental endurance beforehand, they might give up after the second obstacle, and as a consequence, never succeed.

To conclude, although a baseline level of physical fitness is required to beat one's competition, I believe success is not possible without psychological endurance in the lengthy competitions.