Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether physical condition or mental strength is more essential to become successful in sport. From my perspective, both are of equal importance to gain great sports achievements.

On the one hand, mental strength plays a key role in alethes’ success. To commence with, individuals having strong wills tend to have more motivation to work hard and succeed. It can foster their competitive spirits and even make them have a win-at-all-cost attitude. Hence, they can focus on the training programs which may have a variety of boring and repetitive lessons. In addition, mental strengths can be applied when their pressure is high or the odds against them in the competition. Consequently, they can more easily overcome the failures and have more motivation to persist in their training toward to the success.

However, good physical condition is also an integral factor for people who wish to succeed in sports. All the sports demand physical strength for stamina and endurance, for example judo and boxing or sailing and ride-hoursing. Let's take the case of a well-known athlete as an example. In one competition, because of the lack of physical health, he decided to use illegal drugs to enhance and maintain top physical condition. As a result, this put his career in risk. Moreover, having strong physical condition may contribute to injury deterrence. This is because the healthy, efficient body composition may often derive from comprehensive year-round strength training program; therefore, a resilient musculo-skeletal system can act as a shock absorber and join stabilizer, minimizing the impact of accidents in a competition.

In conclusion, both physical and mental strength are necessary to become successful in sport, but it is impossible to succeed without being physically strong.